Kakheti (Georgian: კახეთი [kʼɑxɛtʰi]) is a region (Georgian: Mkhare) formed in the 1990s in eastern Georgia from the historical province of Kakheti and the small, mountainous province of Tusheti. Telavi is its capital. The region comprises eight administrative districts: Telavi, Gurjaani, Kvareli, Sagarejo, Dedoplistsqaro, Signagi, Lagodekhi and Akhmeta. Kakheti is bordered by the Russian Federation to the Northeast, Azerbaijan to the Southeast, and the Georgian regions of Mtskheta-Mtianeti and Kvemo Kartli to the west.

The Georgian David Gareja monastery complex is partially located in this province and is subject to a border dispute between Georgian and Azerbaijani authorities.

Beyond the modern-day administrative subdivision into the districts, Kakheti has traditionally been subdivided into four parts: Inner Kakheti (შიდა კახეთი, Shida Kakheti) to the east of Tsiv-Gombori mountain range, along the right bank of the Alazani River; Outer Kakheti (გარე კახეთი, Gare Kakheti) along the middle Iori River basin; Kiziq’i (ქიზიყი) between the Alazani and the Iori; Thither Area (გაღმა მხარი, Gaghma Mkhari) on the left bank of the Alazani. It also includes the medieval region of Hereti whose name has fallen into gradual oblivion since the 15th century.

Travel information

The travel infrastructure in Kakheti is fast developing, since it is the most visited region of Georgia. One can choose to stay in a guest house, in a small and comfortable hotel, or a beautiful boutique-style hotel while traveling in this region. Telavi and Signagi are the most visited towns. Signagi was renovated three years ago. Until recently there were only some family hotels (simple rooms in a family-owned house with a shared bathroom), but now Signagi features several hotels.

The Kakheti region is divided into eight municipalities:

  • The Telavi Municipality (area 1,094 km2, population 58 350)
  • The Akhmeta Municipality (area 2,248 km2, population 31 461)
  • The Gurjaani Municipality (area 849 km2, population 54 337 )
  • The Kvareli Municipality (area 1,000 km2, population 29 827)
  • The Dedoplistskaro Municipality (area 2,531 km2, population 21 221)
  • The Lagodekhi Municipality (area 890 km2, population 41 678)
  • The Sagarejo Municipality (area 1,515 km2, population 51 761)
  • The Sighnaghi Municipality (area 1,251 km2, population 29 948)